MaiTV: FRU names Rooster Chicken Fijiana Drua squad

Fijian Drua team. Photo: MaiTV

Fiji Rugby has named its Rooster Chicken Fijiana Drua 42-member extended squad, including 15 local players who were part of the side’s successful Super W campaign this year, for their title defense next year.

Seasoned Fijiana XVs skipper Sereima Leweniqila is the notable exclusion in a list of returnees that includes Karalaini Naisewa, Bitila Tawake, Joma Rubuti, Vika Matarugu, Merewalesi Rokouno, Roela Radiniyavuni, Vitalina Naikore, and Fijiana 7s’ skipper Rusila Nagasau.

“Nine new players have also made their cut into the extended squad,” FRU Chief Executive John O’Connor said.

The local players will begin preparations next Monday at any of the Fiji Rugby High-Performance Centres closest to them, with medical and fitness tests scheduled for later in the week.

The FRU intends to plan out prep for overseas-based players in January.

The rest of the story including the full 42-member squad can be found at MaiTV, along with other stories from Fiji and around the Pacific.