Wesley Simina becomes new president of Micronesia

New FSM President Wesley Simina (right) with his vice-president Aren Palik at Congress Photo: FSM Govt

Wesley Simina has been elected President of the Federated States of Micronesia.

Before being elected to replace the outgoing David Panuelo, Simina was elected as senator at-large for Chuuk State.

The vice-president is Aren Palik, who had been elected as senator-at-large for Kosrae State.

Also on Thursday, Esmond Moses was elected as Speaker and Robson Romolow as the Vice Speaker of Congress.

In addition, Quincy Lawrence won the election for Floor Leader.

In March, 29 candidates contested the 2023 elections for 14 seats across FSM’s four states of Chuuk, Pohnpei, Kosrae and Yap.

The incumbent President, David Panuelo, lost his seat in Congress in the election.

Earlier reports suggested Peter Christian, who served as the eighth President of the Micronesian nation from 2015 to 2019, was a frontrunner to be re-elected to the top position.