Candidate list for Niue General Election released

Niue Premier Dalton Tagelagi (centre) attending the Pacific Islands Forum Leaders' meeting in Suva, Fiji in July 2022. Photo: RNZ / Samuel Rillstone

At the close of nominations at midday local time today, 25 nomination forms for the 14 village seats and 17 candidates competing for the six common roll seats had been received.

Broadcasting Corporation of Niue reports the Premier Dalton Tagelagi has been elected unopposed along with four other incumbents.

Several new MPs will be elected to parliament with several sitting members having already announced they will not contest the election.

The election will be held on April 29.